Choosing and Caring for a New Cat


safe_image.php

This article first appeared in Fear Free Happy Homes, April 22, 2019.

When I graduated from college a few centuries ago, I wanted an apartment, a car, and a kitten. (I was lucky enough to have a job lined up.) While cats were a part of the family when I was growing up, this would be my very own cat. I adopted a kitten from a college friend, whose cat had a litter. Alfred – named after a college dean – was with me for many years and was key to my education on cat care.

Cats are often considered to be easier to care for than dogs, and in many respects that’s true. But that doesn’t mean you can just pick up the kitty and deposit her into your household. A new cat’s homecoming should be fun for members of the family and welcoming and stress-free for the kitty.

Continue reading at Fear Free Happy Homes.

 

About ExclusivelyCats
Sally Bahner is an expert in all aspects of cat care: Writer, consultant, speaker, instructor.

Leave a comment