Throw-Aways


Just in the last few weeks:

Dusty's owner "suddenly" became allergic.

Dusty’s owner has suddenly become allergic – after eight years; she’s a beautiful, apparently purebred Ragdoll.

Minuit is on the verge of euthanasia because her owners can’t deal with her being diabetic; it’s something that can be managed by taking her off the dry food she’s been eating.

Mousam was found starving, and hanging around the yard of a residence in Old Lyme; he’s sweet and friendly and has been vet-checked as healthy.

A very large friendly black cat and tiger kitty, who appear to be companions, were left at the door of a veterinarian.

A pair of tiger kitties was dropped off at the East Haven Shelter, which is at capacity.

I received an email regarding a pair of adult cats who are on the verge of being given up because there’s a new baby in the household.

These cats have all had homes, but for some reason are becoming cast-offs. They’re socialized and friendly. They don’t understand why they’ve been

Mousam was found wandering on someone's property. He is friendly and obviously once had a home. But he is now being fostered and may soom hae a new home.

thrown away. It seems as if when people adopt cats and things get a bit bumpy, the cats are the first to go.

When you adopted that kitty, you made a commitment to care for her for life. It’s a commitment that should not be taken lightly.

And these are adult kitties, which make them harder to adopt out.

The new boyfriend doesn’t like cats. He pushes away your beloved, longtime companion and makes disparaging remarks. Should you get rid of her to please him? Chances are, his attitude toward your cat will ultimately be deflected to you. If you give up your cat, what else would he want you to give up?

The economy is bad and finances are tight. Would giving up your cat really fix your budget? It might help superficially, but she’s been with you through thick and thin and now is not the time to break a bond that’s gotten you through tough times. While many landlords refuse to accept pets, try playing “let’s make a deal.” Offer to put up a bit more deposit, or let the landlord check periodically to make sure the apartment is well maintained.

These two were recently dropped off at the East Haven Shelter, which is already full to capacity. A rescue group may be taking them in.

Locally, the Cosgrove Animal Shelter in Branford has a list of pet-friendly apartments.

The allergy factor – whether it’s the fiancé or the baby – there are ways to deal with it.

Sorry to be snappish, but it’s often an excuse for not putting effort into working out a solution. Wash your hands and don’t rub your eyes. Bathe the cat; use dander-controlling wipes and sprays. Keep the cat out of the bedroom. Improve the cat’s diet. Use a Hepa filter.

New baby in the household or expecting? Some preparation ahead of time will make the transition easier. The Internet has tons of information. Check out my article here. It can be as simple as letting your cat smell the baby clothes or purchasing a CD with baby noises. They’re curious creatures! Having a baby is stressful and spending time petting you cat can be a stress reducer. After all she was your first baby.

Cats – or any pet for that matter—are not disposable. It’s that mentality that has led to the growth of feral cat colonies despite the efforts of many small hard-working rescue groups such as the Branford Compassion Club, Forgotten Felines in Clinton, Conn., and Kitten Associates in Newtown, Conn., which heroically rescues cat from southern shelters that have high kill rates. These are groups found in my area and represent only the tip of the iceberg. A few clicks of the mouse will take you to one in your area that needs your support.

About ExclusivelyCats
Sally Bahner is an expert in all aspects of cat care: Writer, consultant, speaker, instructor.

11 Responses to Throw-Aways

  1. Angela says:

    I would NEVER give up my kitties for any reason! Pets are family members, not disposable items. Shame on people who give up their precious pets when they become inconvenient or because someone they’re involved with doesn’t like them! I hope the same thing happens to them when they become inconvenient to their families.

    • bella says:

      I completely agree! It bewilders me when I hear stories of pets-mainly cats left behind?! I do not attempt to pick apart the selfish brain of such humans…..they are either on the cusp of sociopath & the scourge of society…If not both.
      When has lost everything and a new home has the cats best interest at heart then such is the situation. Cats are far smarter than people credit them to be and most who shovel out blanket ‘statements’ have never had a cat (in my experience at least). Anyway- no need to ramble but just wanted to take the time to thank a fellow cat-lover/owner :-)

  2. Thank you so much for a very sad and informative article. Unfortunately cats seem to be even more disposable as pets than dogs, and so many shelters and rescues are being hit hard right now. Please think of adopting an older cat, they need homes too. We have so many at the East Haven Shelter, and it breaks our hearts to see them just dumped like they don’t even matter.

    • Indeed, Lesley. We adopted Mollie from the East Haven Shelter two years ago when it was really full. She’s such a delight. Like many shelter kitties she was just surrendered. It was our gain.

  3. Katherine says:

    Great post! I think it’s very important to get the word out about new babies and cats. My husband brought stuff home from the hospital for both our (fixed,male) cats and dog to smell and get to know our new daughter. When I walked in the door with the baby for the first time, all three animals were more interested in her than me! The cats were and have been terrific with her. Daughter is now 4 1/2, our all white cat is her constant companion and playmate. The nonsense I heard when I was pregnant or when daughter was a newborn was ridiculous.

  4. I am in Georgia and there are so very many kill shelters here and in other southern states. I try to help a little by fostering for Kitten Associates. ~ It takes a room away from my resident cats, but it saves other cats that would surely have died. ~ Right now I have two beautiful adult cats that were in animal control.

    Hopefully more fosters will come forward to help.
    Thank you for a great article!!

  5. Peggy Ryan says:

    I had 6 cats though 5 moves, never once did I ever think of move into a place that didn’t take them,They all lived to their late teens ,that last of the bunch is 18

  6. Jo says:

    Hi i am the owner of 2 cats, my first one is 3 and she’s alled Chloe, she’s a regular tortoiseshell cat and we have had her from 8 weeks old. We have just gotten a beautiful male Siamese chocolate point ad he is absolutely adorable :) I love my cats dearly. But although I love my cats dearly I also have 2 small children that I also love dearly too. 2 boys.. At 3 and 6. I didn’t know that someone could all of a sudden become allergic to their at relay they have had for many years, an since hearing that a week ago I am so scared tht one day I will have to give up my cats :'(. The thought of being without them kills me and I well up at the thought of it. I have even tried to distatch myself from them, because I had always though that I will have them for ye rest of their lives. Though I know it’s not impossible and could happen, what are the chanel of becoming allergic to cats that you have live with for over 3 years ? I’m looking for honest answers , even though I wnt to hear that it’s an unlikely chance I want to know if it happens a lot? I love them so much just like I love my kids :) thankyou

    • Jo,
      I’m really glad you realize how important your cats are to you. I’m not sure what you wrote, but did you say your kids were already allergic or that you feared they would become allergic?
      A recent study showed that kids raised with dogs and cats actually have stronger immune systems.
      When allergies do occur, the first instruction is often to “get rid of the cat.” But there is a lot that can be done so everyone can co-exist. It takes some effort on the part of your family but it can be done.
      Start off with some simple things, like making sure the kids wash their hands after petting the cats and don’t touch their eyes. There are wipes to minimize the dander and saliva. Brush the cats regularly and bathe them occasionally if possible. Avoid having the cats sleep with the kids (as tempting as it is). Feed the cats a good quality, grain free diet.
      That’s a start!
      Sally

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

